Regional School Unit #50 is comprised of the Southern Aroostook Community School (PK-12). Southern Aroostook Community School is a comprehensive public school in Northern Maine. Southern Aroostook begins its 48th year of serving students in September of 2020.

Additionally, Southern Aroostook Community School offers students access to Region Two Career and Technical Education programs and also a variety of co-curricular opportunities Athletic teams, After School Program, Theater, Young Authors, Band, Student Government, and Clubs. Southern Aroostook Community High School’s athletic teams compete in Class D North Division.

Our school is committed to developing a learner-centered experience for our students in a safe educational environment. We currently serve approximately 350 students and offer adult education programming as well. Historically, Southern Aroostook High School students have distinguished themselves academically, musically, artistically, and athletically. We have a caring, dedicated staff that is committed to ensuring that every Southern Aroostook High School student is given every opportunity for success.

The RSU 50 serves the communities of Crystal, Dyer Brook, Hersey, Island Falls, Merrill, Oakfield, and Smyrna.

The area is an ideal location for outdoor enthusiasts. Natural features of the region include scenic views of Mt. Katahdin, an abundance of wildlife, and access to many lakes and ponds. This region can be easily accessed by I-95 and is centrally located between two service areas.

We appreciate you considering our region as a location to educate children and to experience the incredible opportunities our region offers.