Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
So. Aroostook High School 2019-20 Student Highlights and Awards
So. Aroostook High School 2019-20 Student Highlights and Awards
Jon Porter
Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Congratulations to the following students and staff on their outstanding academic and co-curricular accomplishments during the 2019-20 school year:

All Aroostook Band:  Wyatt Harthorne, Maggie Harthorne, Alyssa Crandall, Emily Canavan, Abigail Stevens, Bailey Vose, Jordyn Bishop, Nathan Mahan, & Callie Russell

All New England Band:  Emily Canavan

National Institute of Automotive Service Excellence Award:  Gunner Siltz

President’s Volunteer Service Bronze Award:  Sydney Brewer

Heisman High School Scholarship State Winner:  Makaelyn Porter

Daughters of American Revolution Good Citizen Award:  Makaelyn Porter

All Aroostook Soccer:  

Class D Boys Team: Jacob Ritchie, Gavin Vining, Xavier Morales

Class D Girls Team: Sydney Brewer, Makaelyn Porter, Paige Vose, & Emma Nadeau

Maine Soccer Coaches All-East Soccer Team:  Sydney Brewer, Makaelyn Porter, and Gavin Vining

Class D Boys Soccer Sportsmanship Award:  So. Aroostook Boys Soccer Team & Coaches Austin & Alex White

Butch Shaw Award Presented by Northern Maine Board of Soccer Officials, Sportsmanship Award:

Sydney Brewer & Makaelyn Porter

Southern Aroostook Varsity Cheerleaders-”Spirit Award”

The SACS Varsity Cheerleaders placed 4th in the Aroostook County Cheering Competition and earned the “Spirit Award” for the second consecutive year.  The award is given to the team that demonstrates outstanding sportsmanship during the competition. 

All-Aroostook Basketball Team:  

Class D Boys Team:  Hunter Burpee, Xavier Morales, & Camden Porter 

Class D Girls Team:   Kacy Daggett, Makaelyn Porter, & Madison Russell

Class D Basketball North Regional All-Tournament Girls Team:  

Kacy Daggett, Madison Russell, & Makaelyn Porter, Tournament MVP

IABBO #150 Sportsmanship Award-Girls:  

So. Aroostook Girls Basketball Team & Coaches Cliff Urquhart & Brandon McCarthy

McDonald’s Senior All Star & Aroostook Senior All-Star Basketball Game:  Makaelyn Porter

Aroostook League Senior Scholar/Athlete Award:  Gavin Vining & Makaelyn Porter

Class D Northern Maine Girls Basketball Champions and Class D State Runner-Up: 

So. Aroostook Girls High School Basketball Team & Coaches Cliff Urquhart & Brandon McCarthy

2020 Bangor Daily News All-State Girls Team, Honorable Mention:  Madison Russell and Makaelyn Porter

2020 MPA Principal’s Award:  Abigail Stevens

2020 Dirigo Boys State:   Jacob Brooks & Wyatt Harthorne    Alternate: Lucas Duff

2020 Dirigo Girls State:  Kacy Daggett & Paige Vose   Alternate: Delaney Greenlaw

2019-20 So. Aroostook Chapter of the National Honor Society Members:

Sydney Brewer, Levi Brown, Emily Canavan, Maia Crandall, Kayla Gadsby, Alexis Hartin,

Hannah Landry, Makaelyn Porter, Abby Stevens, Gavin Vining, Rose Arnts, Jacob Brooks,

Hannah Brown, Kacy Daggett, Delaney Greenlaw, Wyatt Harthorne, Emma Nadeau, &  Paige Vose

New inductees in Spring 2020:

Hunter Burpee, Bre Daggett, Lindsay Derosier,,Lucas Duff ,Carson Grant, Collin Grant, Esther Greene, Jordyn Legassee, & Nate Mahan

SACS Class of 2020-Graduating with Honors

Summa Cum Laude 3.75-4.00

Abigail Stevens

Magna Cum Laude 3.4-3.75

Emily Canavan, Carson Grant, Hannah Landry, & Makaelyn Porter 

Cum Laude 3.0-3.4

Sydney Brewer, Levi Brown, Kayla Gadsby, Alexis Hartin ,Wyatt Nadeau, Gavin Vining, & Shelby Violette

Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership Award & Conference (HOBY) 

Brianna Daggett &  Gracie Brewer,  Alternate: Emily Skinner

Maine Youth Leadership Award & Conference (MYL) 

Esther Greene & Nathan Mahan, Alternate: Emily Skinner

2020 United States Presidential Scholars Program Nominee:  Abigail Stevens

End of Year High School Academic Awards

Precalculus: For technical excellence and superior written presentation skills: Rose Arnts

Algebra II: For performance, aptitude, determination, and skill in written presentation:  Delaney Greenlaw, Hunter Burpee, & Lindsay Derosier 

Geometry 10/11: For determination and overall excellence: Esther Greene

Geometry 10/11: For subject interest, participation, and contributions to class environment: Jonica Lord & Emily Stewart

Geometry 9: For performance, aptitude, subject interest, determination, and superior presentation skills:  Maggie Harthorne & Callie Russell

Academic Excellence in Human Biology: Makaelyn Porter

Academic Excellence in Chemistry: Collin Grant

Excellence in Earth Science: Jennah Brooks, Callie Russell, Maggie Harthorne, Madison Russell, Alyssa Crandall, Shayna McMannus, John Langer, Alexia Maclaren, & Suzie Mathers

Significant Improvement in Earth Science: Reubin Campbell

Excellence in Biology: Esther Greene, Lindsay Derosier, Broden Wood, Aedan Gadsby, Adain Bubar, and Laura Lyons

Excellence in Science Elective: Shaylyn Lindsay

Excellence in Honors History: Makaelyn Porter

Excellence in College United States History: Wyatt Harthorne

Excellence in World History: Hunter Burpee & Esther Greene

Most Knowledge in World History: Broden Wood

Excellence in Civics: Maggie Harthorne

Most Curious and Enthusiastic Learner in History: Alexia Maclaren

Physical Education Good Sportsmanship Award: Jennah Brooks, Camden Porter, Callie Russell, Andrew Lewis, Brianna Daggett, Esther Greene, & Adain Bubar

Physical Education Extra Effort Award: Chance Barrows & Devon Tarr

Excellence in Health: Chance Barrows, Maggie Harthorne, Callie Russell, Camden Porter, Julia Murray, Jordyn Legassey, Cheyenne Lane, & Esther Greene

Excellence in Spanish II: Broden Wood, Esther Greene, & Lindsay Derosier

Excellence in Spanish I: Alexia Maclaren, Maggie Harthorne, Callie Russell, & Alyssa Crandall

Excellence in English 9: Maggie Harthorne

Achievement, Dedication, and Commitment in English 9: Shayna McMannus

Excellence in English 10: Hunter Burpee

Excellence in Creative Writing: Maggie Harthorne & Esther Greene

Achievement in English 11: Wyatt Harthorne, Emma Nadeau, Jacob Brooks, Collin Grant, Rose Arnts, & Hannah Brown

High Achievement in English 11: Delaney Greenlaw

Significant Improvement in English 11: Lucas Duff & Glenn Cameron

Achievement in English 12: Daniel Arnts & Carson Grant

Commitment and Dedication in English 12: Shelby Violette

Journalism, Excellence in Newspaper Design: Esther Greene

Journalism, Outstanding Columnist: Maggie Harthorne 

Journalism, Most Enthusiastic Journalist: Alexia Maclaren

Drama, Aspiring Actor: Cameron Tarr

Drama, Aspiring Actress: Breanna Wright

Drama, Natural Talent in Theater: Alexis Noyes

Drama, D.J. of the Year: Wyatt Harthorne

Drama, Leadership in Class Activities: Selena Botting & Emily Skinner

Drama, Significant Growth in the Performing Arts: Laura Lyons