Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
2020 MPA Principals Award
2020 MPA Principals Award
Jon Porter
Tuesday, March 03, 2020

Abigail Stevens Receives MPA Principal’s Award

Jonathan Porter, Principal at Southern Aroostook Community School is pleased to announce that Abigail Stevens of Island Falls, Maine, a senior at Southern Aroostook Community School, has been selected to receive the 2020 Principal’s Award.  The award sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

“Throughout her years here at Southern Aroostook, Abigail has distinguished herself in the classroom and as a leader in the school and the community.”  Principal Porter noted in making the award. “She has been very active in many school and community related activities that have accentuated her outstanding character and commitment to excellence. “She very much deserves this recognition.”

Abigail is involved in a variety of school and community activities. Abby is an active member of the National Honor Society.   Abby also represented So. Aroostook at Dirigo Girls State in 2019. She is a member of SACS Dollars for Scholars, he has been an active member of the yearbook staff for three years, been involved in the drama club, served on the SACS Prom committee, has served on Student Council for three years, and has also served as Student Council President.  Abby was selected for the Maine Youth Leadership Conference when she was a Sophomore. Abby has participated in four years of High School Band, earning All-Aroostook Honors for the last three years and has served as the SACS Band President for the last two years and also served as the SACS Band Historian. Abby is active in the community through volunteer projects and also participating in her church youth group and as a member of the Bethel Church Worship team.  Abigail is the daughter of Sean and Ann Stevens of Island Falls.  

Abigail, Principal Porter, and other award winners and their principals will attend an Honors Luncheon at Jeff’s Catering on Saturday, April 4, 2020 at 12:30 p.m. The Honors Luncheon recognizes these outstanding students with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of seven $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan, Richard W. Tyler, and Richard A. Durost.  Mr. McGowan, Mr. Tyler, and Mr. Durost were former Maine Principals and MPA Executive Directors. Three additional $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the partnership with Berlin City Auto Group’s Drive for Education. 

The Principal's Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine's school administrators.