Recent Announcements

  • We have a new After School Program website! We have a new ASP website! If at all possible, could you take the time to do a couple of the Parent Education Videos and quizzes that accompany them? We ...
    Posted Dec 3, 2018, 11:16 AM by Todd Kuindersma
  • No school - Tuesday Nov 27, 2018 Due to the weather there will be no school Tuesday Nov 27, 2018
    Posted Nov 29, 2018, 11:55 AM by Todd Kuindersma
Showing posts 1 - 2 of 2. View more »
Welcome to Regional School Unit 50
Regional School Unit #50 is comprised of the Southern Aroostook Community School (PK-12). Our school is committed to developing a learner-centered experience for our students in a safe educational environment.  We currently serve approximately 350 students and offer adult education programming as well.
The RSU was formed in July 2011 and encompassed the former SAD 25 and CSD 9 school districts until June 30, 2018.  At that time, the towns of Mount Chase, Patten, Sherman and Stacyville withdrew from RSU 50 to form RSU 89.  RSU 50 now serves the communities of Crystal, Dyer Brook, Hersey, Island Falls, Merrill, Oakfield, and Smyrna.
The area is an ideal location for outdoor enthusiasts. Natural features of the region include scenic views of Mt. Katahdin, an abundance of wildlife, and access to many lakes and ponds. This region can be easily accessed by I-95 and is centrally located between two service areas. 
We appreciate you considering our region as a location to educate children and to experience the incredible opportunities our region offers.